top of page

Acerca de


Our History

Following the loss of several young lives to suicide in Washington County, Minnesota in the Spring of 2010, a conversation was sparked between two of the Suicide Prevention Collaborative's founding members. Shelly Strong, MD and Renee Penticoff, PsyD, LP felt deeply moved to connect other caring community members and organizations to work toward decreasing the stigma of mental illness, educate the community, instill hope, and work together to prevent suicide. 

Following that initial conversation, SPC's founding members combined their talents and diligently worked to create the 501c3 non-profit entity of the Suicide Prevention Collaborative. Over the years, SPC's team has transitioned and grown. Several new programs and events have been hosted by SPC, which aim to bring the community together around a common purpose - to create awarenesseducatecollaborate, and advocate.

Founding Members

Shelly Strong, MD

Renee Penticoff, PsyD, LP

Robin McLeod, PhD, LP

Vanessa Schulte, MSW, LICSW

Megan Simon Olson, MSW, LICSW

Julie Kilpatrick, RN

Mike Huntley, MA, LP

Sara Fuerst, MA, LP

Sonja Tarrago, MD

Kate Flynn

Steve White

Mary Glomb, MA, LP

bottom of page